Skip to main content

Guide To Qualifications

If you’re not sure at what level you should be studying, hopefully this page will help. We’ve made a simple guide to qualifications, what level they are and what can happen after each step. Some courses will have specific entry requirements so make sure you check before applying. If you still have questions, give us a call on 01264 360030 and we will be happy to help.


Foundation Studies Programme

  • For students with support needs
  • To develop confidence and social skills for further learning or independent living
  • Could lead to – independent living, a Level 1 course or employment


Level 1

  • Diploma
  • Entry requirements – GCSEs at grade D-F or an entry-level 3 course
  • Could lead to – employment or Level 2 course
  • One year


Level 2

  • Diploma
  • Entry requirements – four GCSEs at grade D or above or a Level 1 qualification
  • Could lead to – employment or Level 3 course
  • One year


Level 3

  • Diploma and Extended Diplomas
  • Entry requirements – five (Extended Diploma) or four (Diploma) GCSEs at grade C or above or a Level 2 at Merit or above
  • Could lead to – University/Higher Education or employment
  • Two years